Testimonials

We had Charles Karenzi as our Guide and Driver, and it was the best experience we have had ever with a guide and driver. He is fabulous.

J. Thaler & A.Knoll, Austria, June 2014

The tour info packages provided are not only beautiful & unique but very handy with extremely helpful & thoroughly informative. Love this!! James is an outstanding guide and so passionate about Uganda and his work.

Jennifer & J. Lubey, Canada, May 2014

Thank you so much, with your excellent help, I had an amazing time/experience in Uganda. I will definitely be back and will use your services on my return

D. Bolderston, Newzland, April 2014

A very well organized tour - felt taken care of at every point.The service, attention to detail shown has been incredible and would very highly recommend the company. Hope to have the opportunity to use this company again in the future.

M. Bolderston, Australia, April, 2014

One of the best experiences we have ever had

L. Panini & E Goodfellow, France, March 2014

The trip was absolutely incredible!!! Definitely the trip of a lifetime. I don’t think that anything could have gone any better...Visiting Rwanda was an amazing experience. Our guide Anderson did a great job of showing us around Kigali and getting us to and from Kinigi. The gorilla trek was awesome. The weather was great and we really enjoyed our time with the Ugenda group. Getting that close to those magnificent creatures was quite the experience. The accommodations were all great with good food each day. All of the staff and locals were super friendly and helpful which made our time around the lodges worry free and relaxing. All of our flights and transfers were smooth and on schedule.

The Stuart Family, Canada, March 2013

Jude was very professional and friendly and gave us all the information that we needed. Davis was professional and was out of his way to arrange so that four of us could trek together. Thank you for a great experience

M & P Messina, USA, February 2014

Incredibly good service! Felt welcome and taken care of - most impressive was the opportunity to mingle in the community, learn about educational and healthcare efforts.

S & B Schechter, USA, February 2014

Spent our whole holiday in Uganda concentrating on bird life. Very well organized tour. Every detail had been thought of. Lodges very good and staff delightful.

J Hill, United Kingdom, January 2014

Friends and family were a little dubious when they heard about our plans to visit Uganda and Kenya, trek in the jungle, fly about in little planes, then stay in an unfenced bush camp. Now, having seen our pictures and heard about our trip, they are all jealous! I will never forget this vacation, or the experiences I shared with my family. We would simply not have been able to arrange all the details without Patrick and his colleagues. Thank you so much!

R Hazzard, United States, January 2014

We had a lovely time - Jude was FIRST CLASS!

I Grahame, United Kingdom, January 2014

Both Abdul and Elias had a good knowledge about the areas we visited with regards to the wildlife and especially birds, which was our preferred choice for the game drives.

L & T Fryatt, United Kingdom, January 2014

All in all, a wondrous, amazing, once in a lifetime trip which was meticulously and lovingly prepared by Patrick. Many thanks from myself, Jenny & Rachel. We will never forget you.

E Hazzard, US, January 2014

Martin was a very perfect, polite, nice, intelligent person and loves his job a lot. He demonstrates his passion through the stories and cultural facts he gives on a trip.

A Flores & S Muňoz Mexico, December 2013

Loved Rwanda, and looking forward to coming back. Everything was very easy and we deeply appreciated that all was gathered in a 'one time shop'.

D Del Rio, Mexico, December 2013

We had a lifetime experience we are not going to forget. Charles has been a great guide and an unforgettable companion who made a big effort to make everything perfect for us.

C Asenjo & G Monguilot, Spain, November 2013

Sam is the man! Great tour guide for us. His knowledge and pride in his country is inspiring. He kept us on time for everything and we had a lot of laughs. Thanks Sam!

J Malcolm & B Stevens, Australia November 2013

The tour in Uganda was exceptional. Every detail was covered. The service from the onset of the planning to the actual trip was outstanding. The people at Journey's Discovering Africa made the experience as they customized the trip to meet our needs. If you are traveling to this area of Africa, I would choose Journey's Discovering Africa.

J Jackson, United States, November 2013

We are just back from a wonderful trip in Uganda, tracking the mountain gorillas in the Bwindi Forest. Our journey was perfectly organized by Patrick and his team from JDA, in a very professional way. All ground and air transfers made by excellent drivers/pilots. All guides very knowledgeable. The Gorilla Forest Camp is a wonderful place, with an excellent service and food! The gorilla tracking has been very exciting and easier than expected. We saw a lot of them and made beautiful pictures!

M-H Pateau, France, November 2013

Isaac was always prompt and proudly showed us the beautiful country of Rwanda. He was most informative with the history and culture of the people.

G & J Obstfeld, USA, October 2013

Everything was perfect! The organization, the gorillas and your country too.

J Gurria, Mexico, October 2013

A perfectly executed safari! This was my second trip to Tanzania and far exceeded the first. We spent a total of 5 days in the Serengeti, exploring its wildlife and were fortunate enough to see the 'big five'. There were so many prides of lions! I would definitely travel with Journeys Discovering Africa again.

R Landman, United Kingdom, October 2013

I just returned from an independent photographic journey to Kenya, crafted by JDA and myself. I will, in future, hold this trip as THE standard and confidently consult and book with JDA for my upcoming journeys. Thank you, JDA, for listening to me and helping me fulfill my wish list!

R Ruhl, United States, September 2013

Very friendly welcome! Jimmy is an excellent representative of your company - thanks!

H Binzegger, Switzerland, September 2013

James was a great guide and made the trip very enjoyable. Many thanks.

G Sellers, United Kingdom, September 2013

Great experience from start to finish. We should have organised our trip earlier as things were getting booked up, but Journeys Discovering Africa secured us newly available Gorilla Permits and then worked in a great itinerary. Our guide/driver was friendly, organised and knew exactly what to do, when and where, but was also flexible when we wanted. A great trip!

P & S Baldwin, United Kingdom, August 2013

I just returned from an independent photographic journey to Kenya crafted by JDA and myself. First of all, my travel consultant,Patrick, attentively listened to my specific wish-list events that I wanted to experience (black rhinos, solo game drives, skilled trackers and flexible lodging plans). I got all of the above and more! As a result of this detailed tailoring, I experienced remarkable photo opportunities and teamwork from local guides, hosts, trackers... I captured numerous photos of the amazing rhinos, unexpected spectacular predators, and had the time I needed to set up for the best shots possible. That is vital! Secondly, while I have previously seen the African big five, I remarkably saw the big five in ONE afternoon of this trip! Having traveled a great deal, I have booked independent adventures with other companies; I will, in future, hold this trip as THE standard and again confidently consult and book with JDA for my upcoming journeys. Thank you, JDA, for listening to me, helping me fulfill my wish list and connecting me with warm respectful and effective professionals in Kenya who hosted and led me wisely to the best field sites possible.

R Ruhl, United States, August 2013

JDA was excellent. Safari logistics - excellent! Umar & Elias our guides - excellent!

D & R Harmon, United States, July 2013

Very happy with the services provided and will be recommending JDA to our friends who are traveling to Africa next year. Ten out of ten!

T Pham & K Moore, Australia, September 2013

Our guide, Davis, was excellent. His knowledge about finding the tree-climbing lions, leopards and hyenas of Ishasha meant we saw them all, whereas we are aware many other tourists did not. We really enjoyed Uganda. The people were very friendly and spoke excellent English. It is a beautiful green and lush country with diverse and interesting scenery and wildlife. We met very few tourists and wondered why – they obviously don’t know how wonderful it is!

J Wilson & R Dunham, United Kingdom, June 2013

Awesome experience - will definitely be recommending your company!

I & L Rensburg, South Africa, July 2013

So wonderful! The gorillas were spectacular! We saw the Sabyinyo and Hirwa Groups. The Sabyinyo Lodge was lovely, Tracy and Nellis really know how to make you feel at home. Our driver, Charles, was so helpful and kind.

P Burdick, United States, June 2013

Martin was outstanding. The people, the places and the country were great.

G & D Hillegass, United States, June 2013

Geoffrey was the best driver guide in my experience with you folks over the last 5 years. He was considerate, thoughtful, knowledgeable and engaged in making this an outstanding experience.

G & N Beilman, United States, May 2013

Another great trip! Thanks for the help in changing our arrangements at the last minute.

J Chipman, United States, May 2013

Thank you so much for putting together such a remarkable trip. Truly, a very diverse and interesting expedition. The hotels were excellent. Clouds was a dream. Loved every minute. Your guides were excellent.

V Athens, United States, May 2013

An unforgettable trip - Uganda offers lots of interesting sites and activities. Gorillas, primates, and all the other animals. But the highlight for myself was the gorilla trekking. It is burnt into my heart with memories I will never forget. Thank you!

I Baumgartner, Switzerland, May 2013

A fantastic and unforgettable journey. All the driver guides were most friendly, competent and always willing to give more than 100%. Thank you!

B Bommer, Switzerland, May 2013

Many thanks for showing us beautiful Uganda. Special thanks to our driver guides - Geoffrey, Male and Elias. They all did an outstanding job!

R Walthert, Switzerland, May 2013

Extreme friendly, very professional, outstanding! This active tour was the most amazing and incredible experience I have ever had in terms of touring. Your employees are knowledgeable, efficient and so very friendly. I would do this tour again should I be lucky enough to learn of another gorilla trek in Uganda. To travel halfway around the world and to find the level of comfort and experience to be so amazing - keep up the good work!

I Barnett, United States, March 2013

We appreciated the drivers' knowledge of the wildlife and their country, their professionalism and their very pleasant, smiling and helpful responses to all of our group's needs. Joan - our Guest Relations Officer - was professional and pleasant. It was a fast paced tour, but well planned and executed. Utilizing air transport to start and end the tour was very effective. Minimizing our baggage and utilizing lodge laundry services worked very well as part of the package.

A McClellan & R Dewing, United States, March 2013

Martin was a perfect guide and a safe driver. He was always right on time and a very friendly person. Thank you!

The Nieuwenhuis Party, The Netherlands, February 2013

Isaac was very knowledgeable and very easy to get along with. He made our Rwanda stay extremely enjoyable.

The Browning Party, Australia, December 2012

James, our guide, was excellent. He became a friend. Everything was outstanding.

The Rezzonico Family, Italy, March 2013

Christine was wonderful, thank you!

J Little, USA, February 2013

Davis was extremely caring and did a wonderful job looking after us. He was always smiling - it made our trip a great experience. Thank you!

D Horning & PJ Schulze-Cleven, Germany, September 2012

Joan was very attentive to how things evolved along the trip. I was happy with the flexibility to accommodate a few changes to the itinerary that I requested on the spot. James, our driver guide, exceeded expectations, being very friendly and knowledgeable while also keeping a low profile when needed. He's very helpful.

F Echegaray & K Seyer, Brazil, February 2013

The tour was well planned. A tour guide can either make or break one's journey and we were most fortunate to have Jacob as our guide. He was a major part in making our Ugandan experience so memorable. We will return to South Africa with only good things to say about Journeys Discovering Africa. Thank you.

S&R Delson, South Africa, September 2012

Joan and Geoffrey were very kind and friendly. Overall we had a great experience in Uganda.

The Vaca Family, Mexico, December 2012

Martin was an excellent guide. He did a great job and we had a great time. He is a gentleman - friendly, and very informative.

The Martin Family, Mexico, December 2012

Excellent trip - would visit again!

G Barlow, Tanzania, November 2012

Davis was wonderful, caring, knowledgeable and professional - bravo to him!

E Lieberman, USA, November 2012

Gorilla tracking - loved it! Sam was great - he is a great asset to your company. I have no issue recommending you to anyone coming to Rwanda. Great Job!

J&A Stimpson, Canada, November 2012

Excellent efficient service and a very friendly and informative guide. The hotel and lodge staff were all very helpful and welcoming. Gorilla trekking was wonderful - the trackers, porters and guides were all so friendly and did all they could to make our experience excellent. Very impressed by the country as a whole - beautiful scenery all around.

J&J Hoggett, UK, October 2012

Rwanda and the people exceeded our expectations. We would love to return and would recommend your company without hesitation. The visit to the Genocide Museum should be for everyone. Visiting Rwanda was very moving. Special thanks to Martin who made our trip outstanding with his hospitality, warmth and understanding of the country. Many thanks!

N&T Hoggett, UK, October 2012

We have thoroughly loved our experience on this tour, we will highly recommend it to our family and friends back in Australia. Please keep up the good work. Jimmy is very efficient!

G&C Moore, Australia, August 2012

Isaac is such a pleasure to travel with. He is kind and thoughtful, his explanations and love for the country really made our trip great. We hate to say goodbye so just see you later!

D&S Madsen, USA, August 2012

A very interesting routing with a variety of landscape, villages, national parks and activities. We felt very safe and happy with Geoffrey. He did his utmost to make this trip unforgettable. We enjoyed his company and the different stories and information he told us... Thank you for giving us an amazing trip through Uganda!

M Bachmann & A Jordi, Switzerland, August 2012

Thanks to Journeys Discovering Africa for making our Uganda visit so special. Everything was exceptional and exceeded our expectations. We look forward to a return visit.

J&D Davis, USA, August 2012

We enjoyed the tour very much, especially the gorilla trekking. Geoffrey, our driver and guide, was the best! We like him so much - he did everything for us to have a fantastic holiday in Africa. We thank him so much for all and wish him the best!

L&I Siringhaus, Germany, July 2012

Special thanks to Charles - our guide and driver - he made our experience a very special one! And thanks to Racheal for the warm welcome to Uganda!

A&M Schwarzer, Switzerland, July 2012

Robert was extremely friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our time and his professional approach. Thank you!

D & K Pearse, USA, June 2012

Isaac was awesome. He was very considerate, thoughtful and kind. I was comfortable with him from the start. He took care of a lot for me behind the scenes and made my trip all the more better. I wouldn't change a thing.

T Noel, USA, May 2012

It was a fantastic trip and your local guides were excellent! The lodges were comfortable, food was good, the people we met were wonderful...the employees very professional. Thank you!

V Phillips, USA, May 2012

Isaac is great! Will request him again - he was flexible, fun and interesting and did whatever we wanted.

M&L Liewen, USA, April 2012

Jimmy was exceptional in his effort to make this experience "my experience". He was GREAT!!!

R Carter, USA, January 2012

I had a fantastic experience and was very happy with the service I received from Florence, Robert and the hotel staff. Thanks very much for a great trip!

E Beveridge, Canada, December 2011

Stella, both you and Jimmy are a credit to your vocation, your industry and your beautiful country. Our hearts are very sore at the thought of leaving so soon. Jimmy is a very special man: a teacher; a guide; and now, our friend. We will be back - that it is a promise - and in the meantime, we will be Rwandan ambassadors! Top job - Well done!

H Wallace & D Ash, Australia, December 2011

I would like to say a warm thank you for the wonderful time I had in Uganda. It's an unforgettable, extraordinary experience and I am very happy and thankful for this.  I will recommend you to my travel agency and my friends.

A Bolte, Switzerland, November 2011

Every day we spent in Uganda was like a beautiful present. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide. We learnt a lot from Abdul. He was polite and has the best qualities we can wish in a person. Thank you to him and JDA!

A & M Vocat, Switzerland, October 2011

Our guide made an excellent effort to keep us comfortable - we know it was hard because of our special conditions with the wheelchair. We want to thank you for all the support we received - we enjoyed the whole experience.

J M Camarena, Mexico, September 2011

We cannot thank you enough for the excellent service you provided. We enjoyed the tour so much, with all our hopes and dreams being realised.

K & T Gray, UK, August 2011

Excellent!

V & J Webber, UK, August 2011

Our driver guides were fantastic. Their knowledge of the country was outstanding.

The Neill group, South Africa, May 2011

Terrific, magical and a memory forever.

P & E Finkel, USA, August 2011

Your patience and understanding was superb. You went well out of your way to expedite things and arranged a great trip for us in the Mara. Everything went well and we had a fantastic trip...JDA, as usual, was a pleasure to deal with. I will recommend you to my friends.

R Adams & A Beaty, Canada, October 2011

My husband and I travelled with Paul for 13 days and we would like to express our appreciation for his services. He is an outstanding guide and an excellent driver; we enjoyed his company and truly admired his honesty. His knowledge of birds in particular, was highly valued and his experience and knowledge of animal behaviour was amazing.

C Lukassian, The Netherlands, June 2011

Our recent trip to Rwanda was one of the best experiences we have ever had! Our guide, Martin was very professional and prompt and provided wonderful conversation on all of our journeys regarding your beautiful country. He was also exceptionally kind to our son. Stella was fabulous and all in all, we would highly recommend Journeys Discovering Africa!

Howe Family, USA, August 2011

We have had a fantastic Rwandan adventure. Charles was an outstanding, caring and informative guide, who we would love to spend time with again. We can't wait to come back and won't hesitate to recommend Journeys Discovering Africa!

J Oldroyd, UK, July 2011

The lodge staff were friendly and helpful and consistently provided an excellent service. Lawrence - our guide - is great fun, has a huge smile and a very contagious laugh; he looked after us extremely well and is highly knowledgable. All of our airport transfers were efficient and the staff were courteous and friendly. We would certainly recommend a visit to our friends!

M&D Roy, Abu Dhabi, July 2011

Martin was a very courteous driver. He told us much about the country and we appreciated learning about Rwanda. We had a great experience! Thank you - we loved it!

M Raeder, Germany, April 2011

A wonderful experience; I will certainly recommend Rwanda to my friends. It is a beautiful country. Our guide, Martin, was outstanding and we really enjoyed our time with him. Good luck in the future!

L Ronlund, Canada, March 2011

Elias was a pleasure to work with - we would certainly recommend him to others and overall, I would recommend JDA to others. Gorilla Forest Camp was fantastic;  I would stay there again in a heartbeat - the staff were great. Above all, it was a good trip and we all had a fantastic time - thanks!

P Blumenshine, USA, April 2011

Our trip was beyond our expectations. Everyone at JDA looked out for us and made sure that our comfort, safety and enjoyment was a priority. Lawrence, our guide, was terrific!

P & S Benowitz, USA, June 2011

My trip was amazing and unforgettable. From the moment I arrived in Kigali, I was made to feel welcome by Stella and Isaac and I was very impressed by their professionalism and courtesy. Every consideration was taken into account, including the very welcome cup of coffee on arrival! I extend my sincere thanks to everyone. (The gorillas were great too!) I look forward to returning again soon; thank you for such a fantastic time.

D Joannou, USA, June 2011

I returned safely today and wanted to thank you for the nice birthday gift and wonderful journey through Rwanda and Uganda. I have traveled the globe widely and been to Africa on several occasions before. This ranks in the top 3 experiences ! I can honestly not provide any constructive comments on further improving that which is as close to perfection as I can recall. The lodges were exemplary. Paul was great every step of the way and please thank him again for his pleasant company and exemplary service. I was referred to this tour through a colleague and rest assured I will do plenty of word of mouth promotion, not to mention a stunning Facebook album. All the best to you and your team, and Happy New Year!

C Braeuel, Canada, January 2011

All of the arrangements were very well done. Elias is a superb guide/driver. He is charming, articulate and willing to put up with tourists who change their minds! I would definitely book with you again and recommend you to others.

T Tingley, USA, April 2011

I have just returned from the Uganda trip and would like to thank you and all your staff for the excellent tour. Elias and Lawrence were an essential part of the great success of the tour and they treated us royally and were also great fun to be with. My thanks once again and I hope to be back in Uganda sometime in the future.

N Lewis, USA, May 2011